20150724_093052-01
Zenfone 2 with CyanogenMod 13. Photo credit: xda-developers

I miss being able to adjust the speed of the phone’s animations. The iPhone might present its interface in a fancy, elegant way, but after a week or so they often felt like intentional delays to hide the phone’s inability to keep up with my mind. I would like Android’s ability to adjust the animation speed (after turning on Developer Options).

I miss the ability to change my launcher. To be able to position my most frequently used apps on the main screen and keep the rest stashed in the app drawer. It’s the equivalent of stowing away your less frequently used junk away in the cupboard, instead of needing to spread them over a long, wide springboard.

notifications_anatomy_01_comparison
Material Design. Photo credit: material.io

I miss Material Design. A consistent language in user interface creates a unified, pleasing experience on the smartphone, the one device that the average person checks 54 times a day. A streamlined and standardized user experience that reduces the time required to learn how to use new apps. An enriching feeling that you are part of a huge ecosystem.

I miss the seamless integration of Google Services into the operating system, and its better implementation of its core apps on Android. Hangouts suck on the iPhone with its non-responsive buttons. Google’s one-touch sign in did not require me to switch apps on Android. Rapid backups and processing of my photos on Google’s photos app.

google-now-6799
Photo credit: techrepublic

I miss OK Google. The entire process of using my voice to create reminders, do searches, launch apps and call an acquaintance is much better implemented in Android. Siri’s voice recognition is lackluster, especially in noisy environments where it thinks the ambient noise is my voice. And honestly, Google’s calendar and notes implementation trumps the folks at Cupertino, especially if you don’t own everything Apple. (For the record, I am using a MacBook and an Apple Watch.)

I miss how I can launch customized apps from one another to share rich data, instead of being limited to a standardized small scale data sharing implementation. Launching Pocket to save an article from Feedly. Using the actual WhatsApp app to share a screenshot instead of a half-baked, restricted interface. Being able to actually choose which browser I want to use, which is not Safari.

I miss Android.

This is purely an opinion from a user who’s very comfortable with Android and Google, and any suggestions to improve the experience on iOS are welcome.

Featured photo credit: android.com

2 thoughts on “I Miss Android

  1. Be it any device you need to approach it with a open mind. You are facing problems because your workflow have been on Google. The same is likewise for a Apple use trying Google product. Google product are good for customization, but like everything it comes with a drawback that is consistency. E.g on android my dropbox integration with another app broke all of a sudden because the integration was not done for this app. On your point of using hangout, google sign in on an iphone, obviously from a business perspective it wouldn’t feel on par. Same goes for trying to use icloud on a nexus. All this boils down to your workflow, if you have been a square peg all the while don’t try to squeeze in a round hole, the same goes for the other way. Unless you are willing to really give up and try a new workflow, don’t bother switching from Apple to Google or Google to Apple. Each have its own merits, Apple have certain features such as icloud which are bake into the mac os and offer numerous benefit. On windows or linux your google drive is not a seemless integration. Again this is similar to a nikon user complaining why canon doesn’t have the same button layout or a canon user complaining nikon not having a certain lens.

    1. Hello, thank you for your comment. I definitely recognize the need to approach different ecosystems with an open mind. I would like to point out that I use Hangouts only because my work requires it – Hangouts itself is really one of the worse instant messaging apps (I do recognize the shortcomings of Google here). Yes I gave up Google’s voice recognition and reminders system for Apple’s Siri and Reminders, in case you are not aware; and after a few months I have to say Google implemented it better. Same functionality here, so no round holes or square pegs.

      As for Dropbox, I’m pretty sure that iOS developers will need to update their apps to integrate with iOS’ Dropbox APIs, whenever the latter updates. So the issue you raised is not specific to Android users.

      I use a MacBook, so I am aware of iCloud’s benefits. (If you haven’t realized, I have completely thrown myself into Apple’s ecosystem in an attempt to understand why many like it). I’ve come to the conclusions detailed in the post after a few months of using it, and I believe that I have made a fair comparison based on the similar functionalities that both ecosystem offers, and also after giving up Google’s advantages in an attempt to understand Apple’s. Any more specific and constructive examples and comments are welcome!

Leave a Reply

