Powerlogic X-Craft Trek 1000: A Review

Bought a mechanical keyboard recently (god damn. Mech keyboards with Cherry Blue switches are the bomb, but that’s another story), and decided to get a mouse to replace the Microsoft keyboard and mouse combo I’ve been using. (I’m selling the combo cheaply on Carousell.)

As I’m no longer a gamer, I decided to just get a simple, no-frills mouse that looks nice together with the blue lighting of my keyboard. That’s when I stumbled upon this mouse at Challenger. For S$15 (for Challenge members), it’s a steal – and there were 3 designs to choose from.

Source: http://www.dextmall.com/products/powerlogic-x-craft-trek-1000.html
Source: http://www.dextmall.com/products/powerlogic-x-craft-trek-1000.html

Read on for my impressions of the X-Craft Trek 1000. (I believe that this review should apply to the 2000 and 5000 as well apart from the outer design)

Design

IMG_20150222_154721

Let’s just put it out there first – the X-Craft series is not for the minimalistic lovers. The body of the mouse is designed to be expressive and loud, as can be seen from the large, futuristic-looking ring of patterns surrounding the logo. What’s more, the mouse continuously pulses through different color schemes indefinitely.

Do note that the colors and the speed of change of the mouse are not customizable – would be nice to have, but I didn’t expect it from a $15 mouse. It’s gonna be a matter of preference here as to whether you like the pattern; some people might find it too flashy and unprofessional, but I felt that it adds a colorful touch to my desktop setup.

IMG_20150222_213937

The two sides of the mouse are not symmetrical – a small gripe I have, but I believe was compromised due to ergonomic needs. (This is a right handed mouse.)

IMG_20150222_154853

I was pleased at the braided USB cable. It really makes the cable handling easier, and makes the mouse look more professional as well. The USB connector is gold-plated, though I would doubt if real gold was used. Ha ha.

Grip and use

IMG_20150222_154818

The surface of the X-Craft Trek 1000 is mostly rubberized on the black, with a few patches of half-transparent plastic. Overall, the rubber surface gives the mouse a comfortable grip – although the surface wasn’t uniform due to the design, it wasn’t a bother from my experience. Furthermore, my fingers weren’t placed awkwardly thanks to the ergonomic design. My friend with a Razer DeathAdder actually complimented the ergonomic grip. The rubber tends to attract dust though (as seen in the picture), but it does happen for my Razer Orochi last time as well.

I would also like to add that this mouse appears to have a sensor that disables acceleration (or reduces it to a low valuue) given the correct settings. It had the same travel feel as my Razer Orochi, and I could sorta confirm it from the acceleration test that I usually perform:

  1. Position the mouse cursor at the left edge of the screen, and the physical mouse itself at a position you can track (for example, just touching the side of the keyboard, or at the edge of the mouse pad).
  2. Move the mouse, as slow as possible, to the right until the pointer reaches the right edge of the screen.
  3. Move the mouse to the left as fast as possible, and stop immediately when the cursor reaches the left edge of the screen.
  4. Check if your mouse is at the same position you started at. If it’s the same, acceleration is probably low or none.

It was a pleasant surprise, and one that I’m sure most gamers will appreciate.

Buttons

IMG_20150222_214045

The X-Craft Trek 1000 has the standard button set you’ll expect from any entry-level gaming mouse – left, right, middle + scroll, a CPI changer, and the back and forward buttons located within easy access of the thumb. I felt that it’s just the right amount of buttons – I previously owned a Razer Orochi, and it had 2 buttons on each side of the mouse; the right side buttons were practically useless as I couldn’t find a grip that allows me to use them with ease. (Then again, maybe its inclusion was to allow both left- and right-handed people to use it. Okay, I digress.) The buttons have a loud clicky sound that registers clicks well, and they felt durable enough to last at least a year, perhaps?

The CPI changer can switch the mouse between 2000 CPI and 3200 CPI. However, the actual pointer travelling speed leaves to be debated (as explained below).

Software

1

Perhaps most disappointing about the mouse is the driver package. The very basic driver software only provides a set of sliders controlling mouse sensitivity (the exact same few sliders in the Wndows mouse settings, and I presume controls the same thing), meaning that there were no ‘custom’ sensitivity settings unlike those present on higher-end mice. I was very satisfied with my Razer Orochi on this aspect previously.

Also of important note is that the cursor actually stutters when doing precise, small movements with the mouse, if the pointer speed is set to a high value. I believe that the actual CPI of the mouse might not be that high. As I usually use my mouse at about 2000 dpi, I set the pointer speed to about the 6th slider stop, and use the higher CPI setting on the mouse itself. However, for users who prefer a high sensitivity, I think the way the mouse stutters means that it’s not gonna be suitable for you.

2

Other than the CPI changer button, the rest of the buttons are customizable to a few standard actions, and there’s also the ability to record macros – a nice addition. I can’t speak for its usefulness though, I never used macros when I played games.

Mouse Pad

Well.. a mouse pad is a mouse pad. The bundled mouse pad looks nice and seems similar to the ‘speed’ variant of the Razer Goliathus (thinner, of course), and I honestly only found mouse pads useful if your desk has a glass surface. Still, it’s a useful free gift.

Conclusion

IMG_20150222_154734

Is this mouse worth it? For S$15, I would say hell yes. I believe for the average gamer who has a tight budget, the X-Craft Trek 1000 hits the sweet spot with its comfortable and ergonomic grip and multicolored lighting. However, the CPI issues plaguing this mouse means that it’s definitely not suitable for gamers preferring a high sensitivity. Also, some people might not prefer such a bold design and lighting option. That being said, if you prefer high sensitivitiy, you probably have a higher budget – so shoot for the better brands, which should last you longer.

My rating: 4/5

Update: Many of you are looking for the drivers, so I’ve provided a link.
http://leapfroglobal.com/powerlogic/downloads/ (click on the .RAR link for your mouse)

32 thoughts on “Powerlogic X-Craft Trek 1000: A Review

      1. i feel a difference yes but i can seem to get the sensitivity right its just not accurate when it comes to small movement getting it please help im screwed

  1. Excuse me, I find there is a problem, regarding about scrolling. It seems there are some apps that I can’t scroll, such as Task Manager and some games like Skyrim. Please tell how to fix this issue, it’s kind of irritating. Thanks.

  2. I bought mine several hours ago. An hour ago, it was working fine. Suddenly, when I open a bookmarked link, a new tab opens with the link. Also, when I click on another tab, it closes. I tried it on other browsers and other laptops and the problem was the same. How do I fix this?

  3. i bought x-craft tron 5000 and already downloaded the driver but still can’t mange the setting for macros on Point Blank, please help me regarding on this issue. i can’t find eve in the google and youtube for any tutorials.

    Thanks

  4. Hi sir. I was looking for a cheap maceo mouse and ran to your site. Not really a technical person.
    Would this mouse able to set its macros properly like a simple repetitive click or keyboard presses? thank you

  5. I bought a new mouse (Xcraft 1000) today, when I connected to lap, it says ‘USB NOT RECOGNIZED’ could you please help me get the drivers.

Leave a Reply

