Dubai Adventures: Day 3

Sorry for the lack of updates – I was always too tired to post whenever I got back from sightseeing in Dubai. But now that I’m back in Singapore homeland, I hope to push out the remaining of my trip in this blog!

Anyway, before I start on today’s post, I would just like to mention three major observations I’ve made through this trip so far:

1. 90% of the cars are white here (and 60% of the cars are Toyota)

Photo credits: dubaicity.olx.ae
Typical Dubai car. Photo credits: dubaicity.olx.ae

This shouldn’t come as a surprise – Dubai is way too hot to allow cars of darker colors, and I guess a black car would absorb too much heat to actually function properly! But then again, white cars are difficult to take care, especially since there’s gonna be sandstorms here and white cars will look.. yellow? ><

As for Toyota, I have no idea. Maybe people just like the brand here. 99% of the taxis here are Toyota, I swear.

2. The service sector is awesome.

I really appreciate the friendliness my friends and I have been receiving. The ushers and helpers here will always strike a conversation with you, put on the big big smile, and be willing to assist you in general. Many will even try to say hi to you in the language that they think you would understand! We’ve been receiving a lot of 你好s (hello in Chinese), albeit with varying accents, haha!

One thing though, I thought that they seem to not appreciate the use of cellphones when conversing (or maybe they’re not used to it, unlike Singapore, where everyone’s smartphone zombies as coined by my friend Jason). Many of them will go ‘are you busy?’ when they see my friends using their iPhones.

3. I’m apparently Japanese

A japanese me? LOL Filter credits: The St Andrews Face Transformer
A japanese me? LOL Filter credits: The St Andrews Face Transformer

I guess it’s a combination of the limited exposure to Japanese people that Dubai peeps have, and my hair which is.. brown? Maybe it’s because the color’s different haha. Many people asked whether I was from Japan, and adding on to my second point above, some of them even said konichiwa! to me. LOL.

(I’m Malaysian, by the way.)

Updates after the break!

Being the lazing group we are, we slept till about 10am before heading to Karachi Darbar for brunch! It’s one of the more well known Lebanese food chains around, known to provide nice and affordable food in the form of naans and chicken & mutton gravies for you to dip in.

IMG_20130614_105705
The menu!

What was weird is that 80% of the dishes on the menu was sold out! Apparently we went too late and most of the spices have already ran out. We resorted to ordering some chicken and mutton curries, as well as naans for some of them and egg briyani for myself.

Egg briyani, AED 9!
Egg briyani, AED 9!
Yummmmz
Yummmmz

Of note is the really really awesome Sweet Lassi, which costs only AED 4 and is gigantic in serving amount. I was so sad because I ordered a more expensive Mango Milkshake and it tasted like.. condensed milk. 😦

5 of us filled our stomach happily for only AED 66. :)
5 of us filled our stomach happily for only AED 66. 🙂

And we went to Wafi Mall to kill some time before our desert adventure!

Photo credits (northeast in collage): widhis
Photo credits (northeast in collage): widhis

Seriously, I don’t understand how Dubai malls can all be so huge! I guess they really have the money for it. I was reminded by Jason, though, that Dubai lives on a loan from Abu Dhabi and is now unable to continue with the construction of these awesome buildings due to the city going bankrupt. How sad. 😦

Aaaaannd I stupidly stepped into water when trying to take a closer look at the Eye of Horus, a pretty construct within the mall.

Don't be stupid like me ._.
Don’t be stupid like me ._. (the water surrounds the construct)

Unlike the Dubai Mall, Wafi Mall feels slightly more premium – the shop spaces in the mall are mostly occupied with famous, premium brands. I really couldn’t take the atas-ness of the place, lol. (We use atas as a slag for ‘high class’, as atas is Malay for ‘up’.) We ended up playing Monopoly Deal at the nearby Raffles Hotel, while waiting for the desert agency to pick us up.

Off we go to the desert!
Off we go to the desert!

At this point I was like, ahh, finally a place where I feel like I’m in a different country. And it really is an amazing experience – the desert landscapes and surroundings are marvelous. You have to experience it yourself! Despite the hot weather (blazing sun in the desert!) I really did enjoy myself there, because of just how different the environment is.

desert

I was super shocked when the driver was driving on the road and suddenly just drove offroad and went straight into the desert beside! It’s as if you’re playing Grand Theft Auto and you randomly drive at weird areas, haha! The desert landscape is extremely bumpy and full of slopes, so the trip in the desert really felt like a roller coaster – only that it lasts for a much longer time.

car

And the sand here is super smooth!
And the sand here is super smooth!

We stopped by to see some camels. I think they are too damn cute.

SEE THE CHEWY FACE! HAHA
SEE THE CHEWY FACE! HAHA

And more attractions such as…

Camel riding! OMG I got a shock when the camel stood up after I sat on it
Camel riding! OMG I got a shock when the camel stood up after I sat on it
Sandboarding! I love it!
Sandboarding! I love it!
Taking photos with.. is that an owl? I have no idea. Anyway, this is our hardworking photographer Huang Hua!
Taking photos with.. is that an owl? I have no idea. Anyway, this is our hardworking photographer Huang Hua!
The performances were nothing short of amazing.
The performances were nothing short of amazing.

Okay, I need a paragraph here. The guy on the left, was spinning round and round from the start till the end of his performance. I dare say he spun at least 300 times within like, 5 minutes! I have completely no idea how he did that. And the girl on the right is a really good belly dancer. The way she isolates her hips, oh my god, hot as hell. And she has six pack. looks at myself and emo one corner

We had barbequed dinner and it was great!
We had barbequed dinner and it was great!

And we stayed the night at the camp. We were the only group that bought the overnight package, so it was a little scary! Plus, there was no light at all.

White wine for the night!
White wine for the night!
And our friends decided to do a little stretchin'
And our friends decided to do a little stretchin’ (lol Erin Jason don’t kill me)

It was an amazing experience in the desert, with the variety of activities available and the sheer ‘desert feel’ itself. Once in a lifetime!

One thought on “Dubai Adventures: Day 3

  1. Pingback: My 2013 | xianyou

Leave a Reply

