Dubai Adventures: Day 1.1

مرحبا من دبي!

(Hello from Dubai! – as said by Google Translate.) It’s 9.22am here, which makes Dubai four hours behind Singapore, or GMT+4. My first day in Dubai has been pretty cool so far!

(Picture overload below – proceed with caution!)

But first, I really have to blog about my second flight with Emirates. My first time flying with Emirates was when I participated with my school choir in the World Choir Games in Graz, Austria, and I was really impressed by their service and in-flight entertainment. (You’re talking to someone who takes AirAsia!) This time, it definitely didn’t disappoint.

With my awesome buddies, Eunice, Huang Hua, Jason and Erin.
With my awesome buddies, Eunice, Huang Hua, Jason and Erin.

The in-flight entertainment is touch screen! (Albeit not very sensitive) it has a wide selection of movies and songs for you to enjoy. Heck, there’s even a USB browser for you to view photos, music or even PDF files from your flash drive. How sick is that?

Movies galore!!
Movies galore!!
Listening to SHE's newest album because I haven't
Listening to SHE’s newest album because I haven’t
Too bad I didn't have a flash drive to test it
Too bad I didn’t have a flash drive to test it
They even have a power plug and a USB port to charge your devices.
They even have a power plug and a USB port to charge your devices.

The meals were awesome too – my flight was from Singapore to Dubai with in-flight transfer at Sri Lanka, and they provided two sumptuous meals with tidbits.

Snack break! Awesome biscuits with apple juice.
Snack break! Awesome biscuits with apple juice.
(Clockwise from top left) Salad, chocolate cheesecake, plain water, chicken and eggplant rice with some awesome gravy, and a Popeyes-style biscuit.
(Clockwise from top left) Salad, chocolate cheesecake, plain water, chicken and eggplant rice with some awesome gravy, and a Popeyes-style biscuit.
(Clockwise from top left) Fruits, butter cake, orange juice, spinach omelette, bread.
(Clockwise from top left) Fruits, butter cake, orange juice, spinach omelette, bread.

All in all, Emirates really provides an awesome in-flight experience. Although it was my sleep time, I still forced myself to watch Looper – a movie that I wanted to watch since it came out. It’s quite a nice movie, with various plot twists and development that keeps you in suspense. My heart was beating really fast towards the more exciting parts of the show!

Great movie!
Great movie!

We safely arrived in Dubai airport, and it was different from what I expected – when I transitted here in Dubai for my Austria trip 5 years ago, I remember vividly how many Arabs were… sleeping on the ground in the airport. I’m serious. I guess it’s good they changed for the better, though!

And here’s where I’ll be sleeping for the next 5 nights – The Country Club Hotel!

IMG_20130612_072444

The executive suite, meant for 2 adults and 2 children. Naturally fit for the 5 of us, especially since the girls are so small sized :P
The executive suite, meant for 2 adults and 2 children. Naturally fit for the 5 of us, especially since the girls are so small sized 😛

IMG_20130612_101348

We managed to get the suite at a really cheap price! It’s about S$30 per night per person. 😀

More to come for the day itself, but the internet connection is really slow and I gotta run for my activities! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dubai Adventures: Day 1.1

  1. Pingback: My 2013 | xianyou

Leave a Reply

