iOS 7

Yesterday night was an incredible exciting time – at about 1AM in my time zone, the opening keynote for both WWDC ’13 and E3 was going on at the same time! Can you imagine my heart bursting and waiting for the announcements?

wwdc-e3
Despite being extremely tired, I refused to sleep, bought supper back and held on my weary eyes to the live streams

I have to admit, though, that the Xbox keynote doesn’t really apply to me, as I don’t have an Xbox (or any console whatsoever) and I don’t intend to get one, for a lot of reasons (I might jolt that down in a blog post next time). Seeing all the game trailers were definitely exciting though, and I was especially wowed by Ryse: Son of Rome and Titanfall – they are really great looking games!

The biggest surprise, though, was over with the folks at San Francisco, where iOS 7 was revealed. I was like, whoa.

ios 7

Apple actually went with a complete design overhaul, and it’s a much needed one – after sticking with (almost) the same design for the past 6 (6!) iterations of iOS, I guess it’s time for them to refresh the phone aside from the hardware.

I like the colors and the clean design.
I like the colors and the clean design. Image credits: Lifehacker

Apple definitely took cues from both Metro (Windows Phone) and Holo (Android) in redesigning their phone interface, and I dig it – a clean Helvetica typeface, fluorescent colors, the degree of polish. Nowadays everyone copies from each other, but Apple is definitely good at that, and they always manage to refine it to their own style. I have to give this to you, Apple, well done.

Lifehacker has an extensive overview of the new features in iOS 7, but I’ll briefly mention a few:

Control Center

Woot? Left: iOS 7 Control Center. Right: Samsung TouchWiz.
Woot? Left: iOS 7 Control Center. Right: Samsung TouchWiz (toggles are also available on most Android phones).

Oh check it out, Apple finally decided to catch up to the Android game. Control Center is definitely a good and much needed feature nonetheless, just badly out-of-date.

Multitasking

Left: iOS 7 multitasking. Right: Android multitasking. Omitted Windows Phone multitasking screenshot, but it actually looks more similar to Metro.
Left: iOS 7 multitasking. Right: Android multitasking. Omitted WebOS multitasking screenshot, but it actually looks more similar to that.

Another much-needed feature in iOS, hopefully this time for the better (no more refreshing WhatsApp messages everytime you load the damn app!). Hopefully whatever Apple says about optimizing app use time will work and not dwindle the not-so-good battery life of the iPhone.

Notification Center

Left: iOS 7 notification center. Right: Google Now
Left: iOS 7 notification center. Right: Google Now

Oooh check it out, similar reminders. It’s good, though, that Apple implements this – I think it’s a good feature.

Personally, I think most of the features are really what Apple should’ve done a year ago – but of course better late than never. Some writers dislike the redesign and features, but I find it quite refreshing, and I’ll be waiting to test it when I get my hands on an iPhone next week for contract work. Ultimately, you have to give it to Apple for beautifully unifying the set of features into a consistent, clean design – something most companies just doesn’t do well enough.

(And you should check out the other hoo-hahs from WWDC like the new awesometastic Mac Pro. Updated Macbook Airs. Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks. Not forgetting the folks over at E3, with the Xbox One and PS4.)

Leave a Reply

