Digimon Tamers

Again thanks to my good friend Wilfred, I rewatched Digimon Tamers. It was a series that I largely missed during my childhood; I remember that the show was aired on TV at 9am on Sunday mornings, and I had tuition at the same exact time, thus I only got to catch it when the tuition classes are cancelled.

The rewatch really gave me a different impression of this series. The Digimon Wiki says that this series has a much darker tone than the other ones, and I really agree – it really isn’t your daily Digimon digest with the main character being super brave and fighting the battles. Instead, I was treated to really awesome character development (if you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I love character development) of the 3 main characters, as well as a few Digimon in general. The series also attempts to explore the possibility of a world that intertwines with the internet (in their case, the Digital World), even going as far to use quantum mechanics to explain the concept of Digimon appearing in the real world.

That’s why I really love this series after watching it – it’s very real, in my opinion. You really see the main characters and their Digimon partners grow in personality throughout the show, and there are very appreciable concepts to be learned and understood.

The things I liked in particular –

  1. Impmon.
    Probably my favourite Digimon in the whole show – Impmon himself had a storyline, about how he hated humans due to his bizarre experiences when young, and how the innocence and forgiving nature of Juri Katou changed him from a demon into a righteous fighter. It was really a tough time for Impmon throughout the show as he goes through a series of events that made his will falter and made him doubt himself, but made him awesome in the end.
    And did I mention how awesome Beelzebumon’s design is? I think I just did.
  2. Ruki.
    I thought Ruki was a character that exemplifies children that keep to themselves and have difficulty displaying their emotions. Along with her problematic relationship with her mother, some children might be able to relate to her. But maybe they’re too young to do the relation.. Anyway, Renamon is too cool.

  3. Digimon Sovereigns.
    Really cool concept about how Digimons, beings created by humans, chose to take on the shapes of gods from the Chinese/Japanese mythical legends as they evolve into higher beings. They along with the ‘Deva’, which follows the concept of the 12 Chinese Zodiacs, are one of the main antagonists in the show. Of particular note is Zhuqiaomon, who had different ideals about Digimon evolution but stopped fighting the Digimon Tamers, to face the ‘true enemy’ together with them.
  4. Special mention to Guilmon, where the game designers actually managed to make him really cute despite his dinosaur appearance. 😀

I thought what’s bad about Digimon Tamers, ironically, is the fighting itself – most of the time when one Digimon attacks, the attacked Digimon just.. stand there and get hit. I know it’s only 2001 at the time of production but I’m sure the animations could be made better! The only fight that was actually worth watching was Dukemon and Beelzebumon’s battle. And that’s just 1 episode out of.. 51? Oh man.

If you’re looking for a relaxed series to watch, I would definitely recommend this – 20 minutes per episode, enough for a quick break from your work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

