Final Project Presentation

I was pleasantly surprised by the final project presentations. To be honest, the people whom I expect will do an astonishing job didn’t do quite as much as I expected, and the people who I didn’t know came out with crazy cool ideas.

The concept is definitely not new; and as I’m not a frequent cabber, I haven’t had the chance to try the app and compare it with other competitions on the market. It’s great that they got Premier taxi to back them up, but existing competition (Cabbie, ComfortDelGro Taxi Booking) already has downloads in the size of 10,000s, and unless they do aggressive publicity it would be hard to catch up. The fact that they made it into the Android Market so fast shows how efficient the group is!

Awesome graphics! I like how they want to focus on making the game such that the user won’t realise that the game tries to inform about the usage of AEDs. The team has mentioned that they make use of facial expressions of NPCs to let you judge their actions and thoughts, which is interesting; I remember going through the same experience in L.A. Noire, which was interesting. Just waiting for the full game 🙂

I was surprised at how well they used jQuery Mobile (to the extent of Ajax display of Facebook users on search), as I’ve had very bad experiences with jQuery Mobile (when I used it for my previous project, and as complained here). From their presentation, I can see that they’ve put in a lot of thought into how they differentiate themselves from the competition apps, such as being able to tag your friends without needing them to be registered users too. Definitely something that I will use.

A cross-platform, browser-based ePub reader. The good thing about this group is that they’ve managed to capture a specific niche market – the Chinese market, and the idea behind this project is that people don’t want to lose their bookmarks and settings when they switch devices. In this light, I believe people who have this need will find Yun Reading useful. Personally, however, I wouldn’t use this as I feel that there are more polished e-reader apps around, especially native apps on smartphones/tablets nowadays. Besides, one feature that is important to me, which is the ability to upload our own .epub files to read, is currently not available. (Correct me if I’m wrong)

RobTheRobot

They have amazing graphics! I guess this group has achieved one of the most important things in this course, which is to actually work with existing companies, and a big one at that (Disney!). It’s sad that our group didn’t manage to secure the collaboration with MOE in time.. Anyway, the graphics are definitely cute enough to attract the younger generation into playing the game, and I can see that the coders in this team have done a really good job in implementing the requirements from Disney.

My first thought was (no offense) ‘it must be quite boring to make this..’. But again, this group has done very well in terms of working with an existing company and actually delivering the requirements. I liked the part of their presentation where they documented the problems that surfaced when they try to integrate their app with the system in Lions, such as the need to synchronize data properly and to actually read and understand code from the previous programmers in Lions. (And trust me, it’s a pain in the ass to work with existing code not by you)

Cool stuff. The amount of restaurants that jumped on board on their project is insane! I think the only thing left for their group is to actually launch the app and get user data etc. And the good thing about this is that there are actually two sides to the app; besides the framework that they build for existing restaurants, they also have the backend service that aggregates user data and analyzes them for the restaurants to do selective advertising. This way, their idea actually hits two birds with one stone. Awesome.

Remember what I said at the start? This was the project that truly surprised me. While the idea behind seems simple enough and there’s not much difficulty in coding, the user interface is really amazing. The amount of detail that they put into designing the UI and UX, such as the hotkeys and the choice of the name Amanda, impresses me. And the simplicity of the app is another thing that will draw users into using the app; there’s virtually no learning curve and all it takes is just writing a short letter, or reading others’ letters. Sometimes I wish I had such crazy cool ideas too.

Again, another niche market that is well targeted – people moving out from halls or residences. Right now there still isn’t much traffic, but I believe that at the end of examinations this semester there will definitely be people who want to use the website to clear their unwanted stuff. A very well-executed idea, in my opinion.

(Singapore River)

With enough publicity I believe the Singapore River app will be used by thousands of tourists who visit Singapore River. The only problem I foresee is that tourists might not have internet connection to download the app (something the Singapore Tourism Board should provide at perhaps the entry point of Singapore River for example). Augmented reality is definitely cool and I think the group has managed to come up with a good concept to use AR on.

Leave a Reply

