The First Lecture

And the first day of school has just ended. As usual, I didn’t absorb much from my lectures, due to the painful 8am lecture time and the boring programming languages introduction. At least I rested enough for CS3216 lecture, which was more introductory and more on getting my mindset right on the course.


a. Make a difference

That was one of the main key points that Prof Ben mentioned – make a difference. To be very honest, I didn’t think this far when I took this module, only wanting to spice up my programming and teamwork (as detailed in the previous post). Now that I think of it, this is actually the perfect chance to do so; I would say the strict (and painful) deadline of the first Facebook assignment is where I can start off and work with my team to create an awesome app. An app that would really make a difference.

I remember one of the seniors of CS3216 (was it Orry?) who said to step out of the comfort zone. Especially true for me.


b. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger

No need to argue, this is the right way to go. I’ve already experienced that in CS1101S and CS3217 (endured the pressure and pain, and came out as a better person!), so CS3216 is going to be the next test of endurance.

I will definitely be attending the Saturday workshops, because I NEED them to make me a better programmer. Haha.

5 thoughts on “The First Lecture

Leave a Reply

