What I hope to learn in CS3216

(shit, sorry for the typos confusing between the 2 mods. haha)

Well so here it is; the semester is finally starting, rag has just ended (I was the performance co-choroegrapher) and one module which I’m both excited and nervous to take on is this one – CS3216.

I still remember why I wanted to take CS3217, the precursor to CS3216 with more emphasis on programming and developing software on the iPad; I wanted to use it as an ‘unhealthy’ way (or so I called) to level up my programming skills. I am happy that through the rigorous assignments and the final project in CS3217, I have built up a stronger foundation and concept on software engineering – actually going more in-depth into the concepts I’ve learned in CS2103 (Software Engineering), and also my second (and largest scale to date) experience in working with a team to develop an app. My CS3217 project was more organized in my opinion, as we did a lot less ‘hacking’ into other people’s code (as my CS2103 project happened to do so) and had a good module structure such that we were able to integrate our different codes with ease.

In CS3216, things will be a lot more different in that I am no longer working with a team of programmers, but rather teams that consists of people from different backgrounds, such as designers, people who are good with digital media, or even what I would call ‘conceptualists’ – people who are innovative and comes up with fantastic, interesting ideas to be discussed and developed with the rest of the team. The teamwork experience is going to be tough but definitely enriching, as working with people from different fields is a realistic simulation of real-world projects, where not everyone knows everything. The team management and communication is certainly one thing I am looking forward to.

And adding on to that, as there are lesser programmers in the team, it would mean that me (as a coder) is going to carry a heavier burden of the programming area of the project. In the past two projects that I’ve done, I was always kinda the all-around guy, doing some programming and a bit of newbie graphics, and also the pseudo-secretary, taking note of all the things we discuss during meetings. CS3216 is going to heavily impact my programming ability as I will probably be more focused on the programming aspect of the project, leaving other areas to the people with expertise on them. Definitely a good way to further improve my coding skills.

As with CS3217, this is going to be another of my leap of faith into the volcano; either I can melt with the lava, or endure the heat and get shot up into the sky with improved resistances. (Sounds like a game.. lol) I am really looking forward to working with different people. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “What I hope to learn in CS3216

  1. Your CS3217 was *supposed* to be more organized lah. That’s the whole point of the class right? πŸ™‚

    There are actually quite a large number of programmers in CS3216 this year. I don’t think you will have to bear most of the burden. But the way it is with CS3216, more programmers doesn’t mean there will be less work. CS3216 students are very good at generating work for themselves to soak up all the available time.

    Look forward to working with you for another Semester. This will most likely be the last time you will take a module with me. But after this module, I think you are well-equipped to try to take over the world. πŸ™‚

    1. Well, it _was_ more organized. πŸ™‚ Even if I don’t have to, I’m sure I’ll need to catch up to all the rest of the superb coders, amidst my activities. This is gonna be a fun semester. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

