ASUS PadFone

ASUS can’t wait for Computex to start, and announced the PadFone beforehand, alongside other products like the UX Series and the MeMO 3D.

First thing I thought of when I saw this was ‘Motorola Atrix’. Why? Because the Atrix shares the similar concept of ‘phone in dock’:

Of course, there are fundamental differences between the two: The PadFone’s ‘tablet dock’ (or whatever it’s called) is a tablet that essentially acts an an external monitor, while the Atrix’s laptop dock runs on the Webtop OS (Linux-based) and interacts with the phone through alternative means.

I personally think that the PadFone concept is really cool; I’ve always been complaining about the small screen size (yes, even 4.3-inch doesn’t satisfy me) of smartphones being usable as entertainment devices; and the problem is as phones they can’t really to be too big anyway (5-inch Dell Streak is probably the most it can go). Having used an iPad for a few months, I have to give it to Apple for starting the tablet revolution and for convincing me that big screens in a carry-able package is the way to go for portable entertainment.

Thus, that’s where the PadFone’s ‘Pad’ comes in – essentially it ‘upgrades’ your phone’s screen to a big, nice one while retaining all data and settings. Say I have a video on my phone that I want to share it on the big screen to my friend. Were the ‘Pad’ and the ‘Fone’ two different pieces of equipment, I would have to send the video over to the Pad from the Fone. But with this setup ASUS provides, it’s just a matter of inserting the Fone into the docking bay and you can enjoy right away. And better speakers + battery life, who doesn’t want that?

One problem (and a huge hassle) that I face with owning multiple media devices is that there is just no good way of syncing data seamlessly between them, and so having say an iPhone and an iPad isn’t probably the best solution. I believe the PadFone is potentially a very good solution to that problem.

I’m looking forward to it, though I think I will most probably not wait and get myself an Xperia Play or the Galaxy S II. 😀

Leave a Reply

