Transformers: War for Cybertron

Just got this great game and played the first mission.

To my horror, my old 7600 GS GPU can’t even play it smoothly at 640×480 resolution, lowest settings. This is insane! Imagine its graphics requirement when the settings are high.

Other than that, the game is quite fun; the concept is similar to the Star Wars: Battlefront series, except you’re using the robots (obviously). I used Megatron in the first campaign, in the mission to obtain the Dark Energon, a source of great power. I had the ability to use a main weapon and a side weapon (which I could pick up and switch on the fly), and I can also transform into my vehicle at will. The game’s rather confusing at first because there’s a lot of things to learn in the tutorial, which the game advises you strongly to read.

One thing I don’t like is the fact that the Transformer you control is situated at the bottom-left corner, instead of at the middle like normal games:

The transformer at the bottom left is the position

This kinda makes the things at the bottom left more difficult to see. However, I thought that similar problems would probably occur even if they place the Transformer being controlled in the middle, so I don’t really have an idea of how to fix this problem. It’s possible that this problem is rectified in higher resolutions; after all I’m playing in 640×480 -.-

The game’s really fast-paced, and a little bit too bizarre (as in there are too many things on the screen at the same time), that’s their idea of a war I guess 😛 It might also be because of the unstable framerate I’m getting when playing it that caused me to have this impression.

Needs more playing to correctly review this.

2 thoughts on “Transformers: War for Cybertron

Leave a Reply

